“There are no mistakes, no coincidences. All events are blessings given to us to learn from.” ~ Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

Approximately five hours after my last post I walked out to my car, started the ignition and with the XM radio tuned to the Oprah channel I heard, “When people show them who you are, believe them.” No lie. Those were the very first words I heard resonating throughout the vehicle that afternoon as I drove down my driveway to get the kids from school. I even looked around the car, convinced that I would see Oprah herself, or even better, God herself sitting there in the backseat, arms crossed, nodding with a smile spread from dimple to dimple. “Just making sure you got it,” she’d laugh.

It’s no coincidence that these words came back to me after writing a post on that very subject that generated a lot of comments. Most positive, one negative. That post was not easy write. It had me digging into the depths of who I was, who I am now, and who I want to become. I said in my original post that the reasons for starting this blog were 1. To keep me writing, and 2. To keep me honest. And I felt that someone was applauding me as I sat in my silver Hyundai that day wondering how it was possible that at the very moment I turned on the car, the episode of Oprah’s Lifeclass was replaying, and once again, the quote was reiterated, ingrained it my mind. That was no coincidence.

It also wasn’t a coincidence that the comments that came from that post came from old friends, new friends and acquaintances. Something higher than me was making sure that, although the post had been written, that I continued to hold onto it, and revisit its meaning from time to time, and to embrace those around me, and cherish and appreciate those who were there for me via a Facebook message, an email or a phone call.

I have had a lot of these “non-coincidences” lately, and they have continued to keep me growing, to keep me asking questions and to keep me honest with myself. Not always an easy, fun thing to do, but necessary.

The other day, I received a text from a friend: “Good morning! How are you? I was wondering if you’d like to go to breakfast this morning?” I had been missing this friend lately, and as I walked around the block a couple days earlier, I had thought about her, as it was our scheduled walking day and I hadn’t heard from her. This friend always gives me a dose of calm, a little health advice and a big hug. Feeling a little under the weather that morning, I was excited to get the text to meet up with her that morning and took this as a sign, not a coincidence. Or was it … “Coincidence is when God chooses to remain anonymous.”

I met her at our usual breakfast joint, and received a big, much-needed hug! Thank you, L.We talked about work and friendships and about the reality of getting older, and facing our parents mortality. Two of our friends had just lost parents and her mother had recently been ill. The day before another one of my peaceful, namaste, friends who always leaves me with a positive feeling inside, and wanting to be a better person, had just told me about how she had been spending time soaking up every second (and smell) of her aging father. My father-in-law has been battling bladder cancer since last spring, so conversations about the future and what’s going to happen run rampant in our household.

The conversation over breakfast with a treasured friend that day, left me looking, once again, at my life, my family, my goals and my friendships (and, unfortunately, suffering from a wicked stomach bug, that is just beginning to feel a little better today).

And just when I was thinking that my life was pretty content, I ended up running to the bathroom, retching and … well, enough said. My stomach ached, my body ached and I couldn’t decide whether I was hot or cold. I spent the remainder of the day in bed, only to emerge late that afternoon when the house began to fill up with kids and family, in for the weekend. Was it a coincidence that just as I was feeling pretty content, I was turned upside down, physically, by this bug? Or an anonymous message from God to make sure I kept things in check.

Isn’t that the way life is? Just when you are feeling pretty stable and confident and strong, some thing, some event, some person or other, some basic bug, or cold, or illness upsets that balance, throws you for a loop, and leaves you a bit unbalanced — and a little woozy.

Lesson learned … And I’m sure there are plenty more where that came from.

