“He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else.”                Benjamin Franklin

When it comes to exercising excuses come as easily to me as accepting a shot of tequila, don’t forget the salt and lime, came to me while I was on vacation in Mexico years ago. And I am continually asking myself why?

I grew up an athlete. My husband and I have always encouraged our kids to be active, which they are ALL THE TIME! But for some reason when it comes to both of us getting back into a consistent fitness routine, we both fall short.

Go Shea!

For my husband that isn’t cause for as much a problem, as it is for me. For one thing, he was born with the metabolism for five which always keeps him eating A LOT,  and THIN. Yes, he is the type of person most women hate, in that respect. He also has a brain and body that never shut down, which makes for restless nights, and even more restless weekends when all I want to do is veg, and he can’t keep still. So even though, Mark isn’t hitting the gym on a regular basis, no one will ever pester him about living a sedentary lifestyle.

Me on the other hand, when I don’t exercise the legs become jiggly, the spare tire returns to my gut, and I seriously begin wondering if elastic waistlines are such a bad idea. But even as I teeter on the edge of becoming even more of a fashion pariah, the excuses still come: “It’s too hot/too cold.” “The exercise is too hard/ to easy.” “I’m too old for water aerobics, but not young enough to get back out the soccer field.” Etc., etc., etc.

My excuse Numero Uno always centers around being too bored with exercise. I’m no good at spending an hour on the elliptical or treadmill. To me remaining stationary in one spot of any room for that long is simply dreadful. Let alone looking at the skinny, sweat-glistening, perfect gym divas to my right and left, and the older, wrinkly man in front of me with his shirt off. As for going for a run, FORGET IT! If I’m not running for a reason, to kick a ball, get around the bases, or to escape some sort of danger, I’m out. Exercise DVDs I can do once in a while, but NEVER the same one in the same week, and returning to endless laps in the local puddle pool, not too appealing. So, I must search for types of exercises that hide the fact from myself that I am, indeed, exercising.

My plan:

  1. Attend a Zumba class once a week. It’s always fun and new, and NEVER boring!
  2. Take up tennis. I played it for a few minutes with my kids on vacation and the heart rate picked up right away. Not to mention that it tones nearly every part of your body.
  3. Kayaking!!! Mother Nature doesn’t know if she wants summer weather or winter weather yet in western Massachusetts, but as soon as she’s consistently in the summer mode I’m hitting the water regularly with a friend or my favorite tunes and giving my arms a workout.
4. Hiking with Murph or the family. This is an activity I can do in warm or cold weather by simply dressing accordingly and I’ll bring the camera, too. You never know what you’re going to see.
5. Getting outside with the kids more. Throwing the baseball or football around, kicking the soccer ball, playing capture the flag, or a good ole game of tag.
6. Play the occasional round of golf with my hubby, minus the cart!
Hey it’s a start! But unfortunately this is only a list. Anybody have any suggestions for actually getting my butt out of the chair, away from the computer and out the door so I can partake in some of the above fun?
Feel free to leave your ideas in the comment section below, as well as any more Non-Exercise Exercises! Mark, you cannot comment here! I already know what you are going to say. 🙂

