Tags

, , , ,

In general, any form of exercise, if pursued continuously, will help train us in perseverance.” ~ Mao Tse-Tung

So I’m a little late with my Week 2 Mommy Body Transformation update, but it’s not for lack of results, honest. No I have not lost any weight, but I have upped the exercise factor, and I’m starting to tone. So A-plus for effort on that. Here’s a quick rundown of the week.

Sunday: Took a one hour and 45 minute hike in the woods with Mark and Murph. The terrain was uphill, downhill, rocky, smooth and gave us all quite a workout. It was a great way to kick off the week.

Monday: Remembering some advice I read in Nikki Stone‘s book When Turtle’s Fly, I decided to write down my main goals for this project. Nikki believes that if you aren’t willing to and don’t have the initiative to write down your goals, then there’s a good chance you won’t take the initiative to complete them. So here’s what I wrote:

I also wrote down a list of possible activities for the week. Lists seem to work for me, so why not in this case.

Then I took a 5-mile walk with my mom and Murph.

Where I saw this in the front yard of a house on a small country road. Why?

And then set out to outfit myself for my return to the pool the next day. Read about that lovely excursion to Dick’s in pursuit of a one-piece racing suit here. It will surely lighten your mood for the rest of the day.

Tuesday: I hit the pool for the first time in YEARS and discovered a long-lost passion for swimming. I did an mild 2000-yard workout, and I had the muscle soreness in the morning to prove it! By far one of the best ways to get a full-body workout without the impact on your joints etc.

Wednesday: Was supposed to play tennis with a friend in the evening, but developed some sort of funky stomach issue, so I bagged it. Sorry L!

Thursday: Did one hour of an INSANITY workout with my friend and nearly keeled over 20 minutes into it! Definitely an ass-kicker and well-deserving of its name. Yikes! Three days later I could barely walk up and down stairs as my calves were killing!!!!!

My friend kicking butt during Insanity!

Me, with my butt thoroughly kicked AFTER Insanity!

Friday: Back to the pool, ahh! Still feeling good about this decision … Even upped the yards — 400 freestyle, 400 freestyle kick, 400 reverse IM, 400 reverse IM kick, 200 freesttyle, 5 x 100 (alternating 100 freestlye/breakstroke) with 30 seconds rest, 200 warm-down. Some of those who swam with me at Union College in the 90s may recognize this entire workout as one of our former WARM-UPS, but hey, I’ve got to start somewhere. I’m feeling great!

Saturday: Spent the day running between opening day baseball, my daughter’s “Once Upon A Mattress” play, and my mom’s to hang out with my sister, her husband and my niece who were in for the weekend. I didn’t workout, but I was so busy I forgot to eat, so that all balances out doesn’t it.

I just have to say, the kids in this middle school interpretation of ‘Once Upon a Mattress’ were amazing!!! Way to go Kenna et al!

THE RESULTS: Well, I feel fantastic, and had I taken measurements I can guarantee there were lost inches around my waist, my thighs and my upper arms. I didn’t lose any weight, but my clothes are hanging loser so it’s all good.

Speaking of clothes, I am going to be a guest blogger at Merely Mothers next week. They are blogging about fashion so obviously I would be the first choice. Yeah, not! But I am going to discuss my changing styles since having twins 13 years ago, and how that usually changes depending upon how I am feeling about my body at the time, so get ready for some laughs (especially if I include photos).

In exchange, Sarah from Merely Mothers will be sharing about her own Mommy Body Transformation project, how she’s doing, and why she chose to use Jenny Craig, as opposed to Weight Watchers like me. (BTW, I haven’t quite jumped on the WW bandwagon yet. I don’t know what the problem is because it hasn’t failed me yet, but I’m working on it.) Stay tuned!

