Tags

, , , , ,

“We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.”  ~ Native American Proverb

This is the second in a series of Mãma Verde/Green Mama archive posts — my first attempt at blogging over two years ago. To read other related posts click here.

Originally posted FRIDAY, MARCH 5, 2010

Now that you’ve heard a little about my history as a parent I thought I would give you a brief history on how this blog came to be. In short, my husband and I recently made a conscious decision to live a little greener, find ways to reduce our family’s carbon footprint and become healthier. Much of that focused around what we were eating, making our home more energy efficient and utilizing our land more efficiently.

I decided it would be interesting to document our journey and see how well we did in our quest to become “greener.” I thought of blogging, but sat on that idea for a while until I saw that Hilltown Families, a grassroots communication network for families with children living in western Massachusetts, was looking for contributing writers. A quick query to Hilltown Families’ editor Sienna Wildfield about my “not-so-typical” hilltown family’s journey to live more consciously and more “greenly,” and her positive response had me venturing into blogger world.

So here I am, and here is the query that started it all …

“I am a hilltown mom, if the definition of hilltown mom means living in the middle of nowhere, with 100-plus acres of woods, fields, ponds, streams, coyote, moose, deer, bears and any other type of wild creature imaginable just beyond my front, back and side doors. And that’s where the similarities end between me and the stereotypical hilltown mom, at least the vision I have of her (as modeled by a few of my hilltown friends). I am not the best example of how to conserve, I barely recycle and I’m definitely not environmentally aware, energy-efficient or the least bit green. But I’m trying and I’d like to share my journey through one of your blogs. As a working mom of three busy children (twin 10-year-olds and an 8-year-old) I barely have time to shower daily, let alone take the time to get organized and get green, but a recent introduction to the Food Inc. documentary (yes, it was on Oprah, surprisingly I have time for that) motivated me to begin thinking about the food choices my husband and I had been making for us and our children and how we had been living. In our assessment of our home environment, we decided that we could do better in all areas of our lives — recycling, conserving energy, eating healthier, using our land better, etc.

In the past, Mark and I had worked at instilling incentives for our children to turn off lights and save energy only to let them fall by the wayside. We grew our second garden in 13 years of living here this summer, only to be slightly discouraged by the blight that foraged our tomato plants. We began recycling, only to return to our old ways when space became an issue. But the Food Inc. documentary and our overall feeling of unhealthiness motivated us to really give the food thing a try. As one of my hilltown totally organic friends said, ‘As parents it is our job to help our kids live the best lives possible. They’ve only got one body in this life so shouldn’t we as parents make sure we do everything to ensure that it is the best and healthiest body we can give them.’ (Please don’t quote that word for word, the conversation was a long time ago, but you get the point.) So here we are back to thinking about the environment, recycling, being better conservationists and most of all putting better quality food into our bodies, for all of our sakes. So why not join us on our journey? We are taking baby steps, but after a week of eating more (organic) fruits and vegetables and switching our children’s snacks and cereal to organic ones we are already feeling the difference … and that’s motivation in itself.”

