Tags

, , , ,

Note: Through the blogosphere I have met a number of amazing moms who doing the same as me, just blogging through motherhood trying to figure this whole thing out, and trying not to end up in rehab or AA in the process. I wanted to start acknowledging these mom’s by having them guest post on my blog in a series titled Renaissance Blogger Moms. Danielle Jefferson from Things Carter Says has agreed to be my first guest in this series so I can attend to my twins 13th birthday today, and I encourage you to click on over to her blog as soon as you finish reading her post here. So pour yourself a glass of wine, grab a beer, or just go straight for the tequila (Danielle would want you to), and sit back and get ready to laugh.

Danielle and the family!

I love my blog. I love the fact that it has allowed me to connect with other cool moms who are blogging their way through life (cause yes, I consider myself cool). I’m a people person. I really love interacting with others.

Kelly is one of the awesome moms I’ve met through blogging.

Judging by her stories she seems like a genuinely nice person, loving mother and overall positive human being.  (Which is why I was slightly confused to hear that she actually enjoys reading my blog … all I do is swear and bitch about my kids.)

Anyway, after chatting back and forth with Kelly I was so pleased to hear her say that she considers ME to be a fellow Renaissance Mom!

That’s amazing and flattering.  I can’t wait to tell all my friends. Oh, and also … I have no idea what that means.

I asked for an explanation:

Kelly said “Well for me it’s just an extraordinary mom who is unique in her own way.”

Ok.  I can get on board with that.  I looked to her blog for some more inspiration on defining my new title.  I came across the series she recently launched and read about her first featured Renaissance Mom, Nikki Stone.

Umm … you want my post to follow the feature about the gorgeous, flawless Olympic gold medal winner? Wonderful. Way to set the bar low for me.

Ok, so we’re working with extraordinary, unique, brilliant and beautiful (I may have added those last two). I’m pretty sure all of those words describe me … as well as “modest”.

Well, I’ve certainly been called unique before

I tend to have my own way of doing things.  I am probably scarring my children for life.  But I’m giving them really good material for their future therapy sessions. You can thank me later, kids.

Come to think of it, I possess a lot of qualities that I would want in a fellow mom friend.  I’m one of the few moms I know who regularly admits that she can’t stand her children sometimes. That’s extraordinary in my book.

If you only write about how wonderful and amazing your kids are then you don’t have actual, real-life kids. Everyone has bad days and when you have bad days the last thing you want to read about is how glorious the parenting experience is for everyone else.

No. You want to go over to my blog and hear me say things like “Mommy doesn’t want to hear your voice right now!” and “If you don’t knock that off I’m sending you to live with the Wild Things.”

Statements like that add to my Renaissance Mom status because I say them out of love. Out of love for not only my children, but also my sanity. Because if they keep screaming like that I’m going to go crazy and be committed. And I can’t effectively parent from the nut house. That’s just a fact.

So after some thought I’m fully embracing the title of Renaissance Mom and I’m taking it to mean “totally kick-ass and honest”. That’s what I am … according to me at least.  And I’m just making my way through motherhood one margarita at a time!

(As a side note, if I’m going to add this title to my list of accomplishments the first thing I need to do is learn how to spell it. Here are some of my attempts: Rennesance, Renisance, Renissance, Rennessence…)

Danielle is a 30-something tell-it-like it is mother of two young boys who are 16 months apart. She stays sane by drinking tequila, running (to burn off the tequila) and blogging about all the aspects of motherhood that she finds ridiculous … she blogs a lot.

