Tags

, , , ,

“Like chips without cheese dip, midlife mommy moments wouldn’t be the same if we couldn’t vent together.” ~ Jackie Hennessey, author of “How to Spread Sanity on a Cracker: Mom-to-mom whines, cheese, rants and recipes”

I’ve said it before and I’m sure I will continue to say it again, and again, and again, there are some very cool women and moms out there in the blogosphere doing their thing. I just happened to connect with one of those moms early on in my blogging adventure (via Twitter no less), and I swear we could have been sisters in another lifetime, or maybe Soul Sisters in this one (I’ve met a few out there)!

Jackie Hennessey is a 40-something blogger, author, PR consultant, cheese-loving mom of two, who happens to living in Barrington, Rhode Island, where my family has been attending an end-of-season soccer tournament every fall since my daughter was 8. And as life would have it, Jackie is a soccer mom, too. So this year hopefully we will meet up on the fields somewhere. It’s the next logical step after meeting online, learning how much we have in common, winning a copy of her new seriously funny, all-moms-can-relate, LOL, get-your-fellow-moms-together-to-rant-eat-and-drink book, “How to Spread Sanity on a Cracker” from the Rhody Mamas. Fate? Maybe. A little cyber-stalkerish on my part, maybe a little of that, too. But none of that takes away from the fact that Jackie has nailed what much of motherhood is all about “mom-to-mom whines, cheese, rants, and recipes,” (on top of the kisses, hugs, and cute kids moments that balance it all out), and we mom’s wouldn’t have it any other way!

Like Jackie, I ,too, am a cheese lover and appetizer guru of sorts so I was psyched to see each chapter begin with a comforting cheese dish followed by a mom story we could all relate to (but that somehow seems funnier when told by someone else). I guess when you’re in the moment, these things just “ain’t that funny!” Jackie’s book is a quick easy read, perfect for a summer day at the beach or simply the five minutes of uninterrupted bathroom time you have scheduled into your day.

Jackie has tapped into the inner-world of mommyhood, mortifying adventures, everyday baubles and slip-ups, and the sometimes unexplainable through a host of mommy anecdotes as told by other moms from Rhode Island to Washington, and herself. I’m hoping you will love it as much as I did, which is why Jackie has agreed to give away one free, autographed copy of her book to a lucky Renaissance Mom reader. All you have to do is leave a comment below by Thursday, May 31, by 11:59 p.m. EST. A winner will be chosen via random.org and announced on Friday, June 1, by noon EST at the latest. All entrants must live in the United States (sorry out-of-countriers). Good Luck!

To read more about Jackie Hennessey visit her website at ventingsessions.com where you can hear more rants, buy her book, and more. One of her most recent posts The Ubiquitous Arm Dangle had me nearly peeing my pants (ahh, another reason to rant about motherhood).

If you missed Jackie’s guest post, “Spreading a Little Mommy Sanity” on Renaissance Mom yesterday check it out here.

