“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.” ~ Pablo Picasso

Years ago my twins loved to draw and create. They’d spend hours at the art table (which eventually turned into an enormous art closet), and I’d marvel in fascination each time they’d produce another masterpiece for me to display.

Then they entered school and met the art teacher from hell!

She ripped flowers off their projects and displayed them in the hallway with remnants of the original flowers still obvious for all to see.

She told them their project needed another tree to make it “better” or she’d crumple up students’ papers in front of their classmates and make them start over.

These kids only went to this school from kindergarten through second grade.

Yeah, you can pick your jaw up off the floor now. I know it’s unbelievable, and oh, so TRUE. And just so you know, these stories aren’t even the bad ones.

Needless to say that by 7-years-old both my art-lovers came to despise the subject, and they have never regained their preschool fascination for drawing, painting, and sculpting mystical creatures and faraway lands derived from their very active imaginations even though the art closet and table still occupy an entire room in our house. Thank you very much, lady!

It is for reasons such as these that fostering creativity in children is so important to me. It is why I take every opportunity to encourage my children’s and their friends’ creative spirits, and it is why I began a Renaissance Kids Create section a few weeks ago.

I told you in my first post, that since I started blogging Thing 3 has brought all sorts of his and his friends’ projects home for me to post on my blog. The following is Chapter 1 of four in his friends’ book “The Dangerous Pig (and Cow).” These boys have waited a long time for me to get this up, and now I have dedicated four posts for them so I can bring you “The Dangerous Pig (and Cow)” in its entirety. Enjoy (and remember they are fourth-grade boys who are incredibly proud of their final product)!

The Dangerous Pig (and Cow) by Anthony and Griffen

